The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organization of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Burundi with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.
The Treaty for Establishment of the East African Community was signed on 30th November 1999 and entered into force on 7th July 2000 following its ratification by the Original 3 Partner States – Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18th June 2007 and became full Members of the Community with effect from 1st July 2007.

Aims and Objectives

The EAC aims at widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in, among others, political, economic and social fields for their mutual benefit. To this extent the EAC countries established a Customs Union in 2005 a Common Market by 2010, a Monetary Union Protocol was signed in 2013 and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African Community Partners States.

Enlargement of the Community

The realization of a large regional economic bloc encompassing Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda with a combined population of more than 143.5 million people, land area of 1.82 million sq kilometres and a combined Gross Domestic Product per capita of 
$ 769 (2014), bears great strategic and geopolitical significance and prospects of a renewed and reinvigorated  East African Community.

Current status

The regional integration process is at a high pitch at the moment. The encouraging progress of the East African Customs Union, Common Market, signing of Monitory Union Protocols, initiatives to fast-track EAC integration as well as the consultations on fast tracking the process towards East African Federation all underscore the serious determination of the East African leadership and citizens to construct a powerful and sustainable East African economic and political bloc.

For more information visit www.eac.int


Designed by Filmax / Gravisio